top of page

Family Engagement Committee

This committee focuses on strategies for family engagement, including identifying and sharing of best practices.

Access the Family Engagement Guide Here

Upcoming Meeting Dates:​​​

  • July 26, 2023

  • September 27, 2023

  • November 22, 2023

  • January 24, 2024

  • March 27, 2024

  • May 22, 2024

All meeting times are at 10:00 a.m. via conference call or Zoom. Please watch for communications from the committee chair regarding connection information.

Committee Information:

Resources on Family Engagement

How to Host an Engaging Family Night

Committee Co-Chairs:

  • Billy Stone, Oakridge Neighborhood Services​

  • John Spinks, Oakridge Neighborhood Services

Committee Members:​

  • Amy Joens, DMPS

  • Christine Carlson, Storm Lake CSD

  • Claudia Gonzalez, Des Moines Public Schools

  • Dema Abussaf, Des Moines Public Schools

  • Hillary Huebner, Clinton

  • Kaitlin Schmidt, St. Mark Youth Enrichment

  • Linda Phillips, Des Moines Public Schools

  • Madisen Gaskin, Des Moines Public Schools 

  • Megan Bogdan, YouthPort

  • Patty Schmidt, Easton Valley/Andrew

  • Stephanie Stulken, Cedar Rapids Schools

  • Tricia Anderson, North Fayette

  • Vic Jaras, Iowa Department of Education

This committee is staffed by the Iowa Afterschool Alliance. Contact:

bottom of page